Harrison County Uninsured Car Accident Lawyer
Mississippi law requires all drivers to carry a certain minimum amount of liability insurance coverage to compensate those injured as a result of the driver’s negligence in the event of an accident. When a motorist breaks this law and causes a wreck but does not have any liability insurance, victims may have to look to their own insurance policy to recover damages. If the victim has uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage, that coverage will apply if the wreck was caused by someone with no liability insurance, and may also apply if the person who caused the wreck has insufficient limits of liability insurance. If you were in a car accident with an uninsured motorist, you may benefit from contacting a Harrison County uninsured car accident lawyer.
Being involved in a car crash often leaves the injury victim with medical bills, property damage, and lost wages. A skilled car accident attorney with experience pursuing compensation for injured clients could examine all possible sources for financial recovery, including an uninsured motorist claim.
Car Insurance Requirements in Harrison County
Under Mississippi’s mandatory automobile liability insurance system, all drivers are required to maintain the following minimum coverage levels:
- $25,000 liability coverage for the injury or death of one individual in an accident caused by the owner of the insured vehicle
- $50,000 liability coverage for the total bodily injury or death liability in an accident caused by the owner of the insured vehicle
- $25,000 liability coverage for property damage in an accident caused by the owner of the insured vehicle
Drivers must always carry proof of insurance with them under Mississippi Code §63-15-4. A Harrison County lawyer experienced with uninsured car accident cases knows the specific insurance requirements in Mississippi and how they apply to a victim’s case.
How Uninsured Motorist Coverage Works
Uninsured motorist coverage means that an injured individual’s insurance policy may provide compensation after a wreck when the at-fault driver’s insurance is either non-existent, or is insufficient to cover the costs of the injured person’s damages. When a person purchases liability insurance in Mississippi, he automatically purchases uninsured motorist coverage up to the legally required minimum – unless uninsured motorist coverage is rejected in writing.
Mississippi drivers are allowed to stack uninsured motorist coverage if they have more than one insured vehicle in their household. If, for instance, someone insures three vehicles in their household, each with uninsured motorist coverage limits of $50,000 per person and $100,000 per accident, he or she would have up to $150,000 per person and $300,000 per accident of uninsured/underinsured coverage available.
Recovering Losses Caused by An Uninsured Driver
In Harrison County, uninsured and underinsured motorist claims fall into the same portion of an insurance policy, provided this coverage is purchased. The scenarios in which an uninsured motorist policy would most commonly provide coverage include the following:
- The defendant is uninsured — if the at-fault driver does not have his or her own auto insurance policy, a victim’s uninsured motorist coverage would be the next best source of recovery for bodily injuries and other losses.
- The defendant is underinsured — if the at-fault driver has liability coverage, but that coverage does not have high enough limits to cover the victim’s medical expenses and other damages, his or her underinsured motorist policy may provide coverage if the limits are higher than the defendant’s liability policy limits.
- The defendant is unknown — if a victim is injured in a hit and run collision, Mississippi law requires an injured person’s uninsured motorist coverage to provide coverage as if the at-fault driver was known but was uninsured, provided there was contact between the motor vehicles.
When an accident victim is unsure if his or her auto policy includes uninsured motorist coverage, an accomplished lawyer in Harrison County could obtain a copy of the policy and explain the provisions.
Types of Damages
An experienced Harrison County attorney could help a car crash victim recover compensation through uninsured motorist coverage for a range of damages. These could include current and future medical costs for treating injuries stemming from the wreck, rehabilitation costs, and travel costs for medical treatment. Compensation may also include lost wages, lost earning capacity, emotional distress, mental anxiety, pain, and suffering.
Call a Harrison County Uninsured Car Accident Attorney Today
If you have been hurt in a collision with an uninsured or underinsured driver, a Harrison County uninsured car accident lawyer could assist you with your case. An attorney could help you to determine your insurance rights and assist you with recovering the compensation you should receive. Call now to schedule a free consultation and learn more about your legal rights.